ACE shift lights fitting 310R

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Tartanbj
Tartanbj's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 days 3 hours ago
Joined: 23/03/2017
ACE shift lights fitting 310R

Hi

Ive been trying to fit the Ace shift lights to 310R

I found the right 3 pin connector under dash to right of dials but when I fit the lead from ACE control box I get no reading on Revs from engine and the Rev counter on dash stops working.  Clearly the power is working as I get the 3 question marks on digital read out but no rev reading. 

Anyone had similar challenges and found a solution. Don't want to splice into existing cables when there is a connector that's supposed to to the job. 
cheers

Bruce


 

ChrisC
Offline
Last seen: 46 min 47 sec ago
Joined: 17/04/2014

Hi Bruce

Not going to be an easy one to diagnose.  Lack of up to date wiring diagrams and recent ECU changes are some of the hurdles you face.   I would want to see if there is a signal on the white and black stripe wire to see if the problem lies with the car or the shift lights (or the configuration of the lights).   

I would use an oscilloscope for this, but that's not exactly a common tool to own :-( 

Can you checked the settings of the Ace with a know working example on a 310R?

Chris,

Obodiah
Obodiah's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 15 min ago
Joined: 18/10/2019

I've just fitted this unit on my 420R.  On my loom the three wires were each terminated in a separate connector and were cable tied together along with anothe red/white cable that was terminated with heat shrink (ie not to be used).  These are the connections I used:

Green - live

Black - Earth

Black/White - tacho feed to ACEs unit 

Obodiah
Obodiah's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 15 min ago
Joined: 18/10/2019

I've just fitted this unit on my 420R.  On my loom the three wires were each terminated in a separate connector and were cable tied together along with another red/white cable that was terminated with heat shrink (ie not to be used).  These are the connections I used:

Green - live

Black - Earth

Black/White - tacho feed to ACEs unit 

aerobod
aerobod's picture
Online
Last seen: 15 sec ago
Joined: 17/04/2014

A 1K pull-up resistor may be required, I know I had to fit one when changing the tacho feed to my new ECU:

https://www.lotus7.club/forum/techtalk/aces-sure-shift-2-wiring

James

Tartanbj
Tartanbj's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 days 3 hours ago
Joined: 23/03/2017

Thanks for replies folks. Will have a look for other cables as per Obodiah post. See if I can find them. Maybe the connector I used is not right one after all. 
cheers

Bruce 

Tartanbj
Tartanbj's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 days 3 hours ago
Joined: 23/03/2017

Thanks I'll look for the 3 cable tied leads. I found a connector that I thought was the one 

ta

 

Tartanbj
Tartanbj's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 days 3 hours ago
Joined: 23/03/2017

Thanks I'll look for the 3 cable tied leads. I found a connector that I thought was the one 

ta