ITB’s/RBTB’s on 2015 420R

29 posts / 0 new
Last post
Rich420R
Rich420R's picture
ITB’s/RBTB’s on 2015 420R

I'm looking to fit ITB's to my 2015 Caterham 7 420R SV (Duratec engine). The Caterham roller barrel throttle bodies are seriously pricey at 4K. Now I'm new to the caterham world, but in the past have modified other cars and know they ITB's are usually around 2k. 
I would be interested to hear other owners feedback on the caterham RBTB's and if they believe it was worth the 4K. Then I would also be interested to hear if anyone sourced ITB's elsewhere? 

aerobod
aerobod's picture

Besides the roller barrel kit with fittings, filter and TPS, the Caterham kit also includes upgraded injectors (standard ones are maxed out on plenum system), new ECU with RBTB map and fitting by Caterham. These all need to be factored in for Jenvey and other installations, bringing the prices a lot closer, as the non-Caterham installation will probably require a rolling-road tuning session, too.

James

ScottR400D

I had Titan RBTBs fitted to my 2015 R400 in 2016, by Luke Stevens of Team Leos. Same thing as CC sell but branded Titan.

It cost me a little less than CC would have charged at the time but got me better quality injectors, loom, TPS and carbon trumpets.

A full RR set up and re map was included. 

It transformed the car; from an erratic idle it went to rock steady 850rpm tickover, it will pull away with no throttle (albeit slowly!) and is a pleasure to drive in all circumstances. 

Well worth the cost IMO. Luke was great, gave me options on the various parts, sourced them all, fitted and set up and returned the car running perfectly. No issues at all. 

Toughie
Toughie's picture

#2 Aero, correct me if I'm wrong, but the Cateham map is a generic one.  Caterham don't, and wont, actually map for the individual car on a RR.

And the Caterham ECU is locked, so cannot be mapped by another tuner.

Why they only provide locked ECUs is another question to ask at the Webinar.

Alan