Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Misfire at >3500 rpm

NedeSquare

Hello everyone,

I am new to Caterhams, and in need of a little help. I have owned a 2009 Supperlight with the 150HP Sigma for the past 6 months. The car has only done 6000km and been running well. 

When out for a Blat today, the car would stutter and pop when traveling between 60 and 70 MpH in 6th gear, (Approx 3500 - 4000rpm). Very noticeable to the point where the car 'kangaroo hopped' at speed. On slowing down and reducing revs, no issues to note. Once back up to similar speeds, the issue repeated itself.

Any ideas on where I should start to look at problems, All HT leads are secure, the fuel is 98 RON, the oil recently changed, no issues on gauges.

Any advice greatly apreciated.

PS - I am in New Zealand, so not many Caterhams here.

Cheers Nede. :-) 

Do you get the problem when you rev the engine with the car static?  Perhaps as a next step take out the plugs and see if there are any clues in terms of condition, gaps, and discolouration.  If the plugs are the original Ford plugs, gap settings above 1.0mm have an association with premature failure of the coil pack.

Will the car accelerate through the misfire and does the misfire clear at higher rpm / lower gear or is it only at constant speed on level road?

There is an engine vibration period at about those revs which can show up any bad connections. Check ALL engine bay plugs and connections especially earths, including battery.

As Jim said plug gaps should be 0.9mm....standard Ford gap has caused problem?

Is the air filter reasonably clean?

Lots of other possibles including poor fuel quality

Thanks for the replies.